History of DepEd Division of Davao del Sur

            More often than not, we celebrate the cause and not the date. We savor the essence and not the event. We rejoice on purpose and not on establishment. Nevertheless, it is better should someone knows how did it all start.

            Where did the Division of Davao del Sur originate and how did it come to be?

            Year 1967, Division of Davao del Sur first started to operate. Its first Division office was in the Gabaldon Building of Ramon Magsaysay Central Elementary School, Digos City. Digos City then was once part of Division of Davao del Sur. Through the support and effort of the late Governor Ramon Delos Cientos and late Congressman Alejandro Almendras Sr., the creation of Division of Davao del Sur was realized. The first Schools Division Superintendent of Davao del Sur is Miniato Cuevas.  He strove to assist the schools of the province with the help of Legal Officer Hilario Mapayo and Administrative Officer Alfred Lisundra. This was despite most of the personnel of the Division, that time, were detailed employees from Provincial Capitol.

            Next to SDS Miniato Cuevas was SDS Alfreda O. Alcantara. It was during her time that the plan of relocating the Division Office of Davao del Sur to a better site conceived. Beefed with support from the provincial government headed by late Gov. Nonito Llanos Sr., the Division of Davao del Sur Office was relocated to one of the buildings of Don Mariano Marcos Elementary School during the time of SDS Benjamen Miano.

            Finally, the Division Office of Davao del Sur completed its relocation during the time of SDS Nooh Indin year 1988.

            The succeeding SDS reaped what the preceding Superintendents had sown. The names of the current and previous Schools Division Superintendents were arranged in chronological order (from most recent). See who had the rein of the Division that able to transform it from a feeble to the monolith it is today.

  • Nelson Lopez, CESO V
    • Eufemia Gamutin, CESO V
    • Reynaldo Mellorida, CESO VI
    • Louella Tancontian
    • Angelina Giducos
    • Alfonso Gomez Jr.
    • Ajatil Jairal
    • Benedicto Cruz
    • Nooh Indin
    • Benjamen Miano
    • Alfreda Alcantara
    • Miniato Cuevas

            The Division of Davao del Sur continuously functions and thrive towards securing provision of excellent education to learners.